Bad Feminist Book Review

While the larger goal of feminism is equal rights, there are many smaller goals under the banner of feminism that still need to be reached.

Roxane Gay’s 2014 book, Bad Feminist, is a series of essays on feminism. She writes about topics that include Chris Brown, the Sweet Valley High book series and the images of women of color that we currently see on screen.

What I liked about this book  is that it comes from the perspective of a woman of color. Ms. Gay is the daughter of Haitian-American immigrants. Feminism often comes from the view of a Caucasian woman from the upper and middle classes. While the feminist voices from women of color are getting louder, they are not as prominent as they could be. The title of the book is very appropriate. Even the staunchest of feminists may sometimes fall back to the male/female double standard because that is what many of us were raised on.

The last few lines of the book are as follows:

“No matter what issues I have with feminism, I am a feminist. I cannot and will not deny the importance and the absolute necessity of feminism. Like most people, I am full of contradictions, but I also don’t want to be treated like shit for being a woman.

I am a bad feminist. I would rather  be a bad feminist than no feminist at all”.

I agree with that statement completely and I absolutely recommend this book.

2 Comments

Filed under Book Review, Books, Feminism

2 responses to “Bad Feminist Book Review

  1. Pingback: Best New Books Of 2014 | Writergurlny

  2. Pingback: I Am A Bad Feminist | Writergurlny

Leave a Reply

