Today I Voted 

Today I voted.

  • Today I voted for my great-grandmother’s generation. My great-grandmothers entered this country as immigrants with second class citizenship and fought for their basic rights.
  • Today I voted for my grandmother’s generation. Born during World War I, they were too  young to understand how important the 19th Amendment would be to their future.While their fathers, brothers, boyfriends and husbands fought for this country during World War II, they went to work and forever changed the fate of American women.
  • I voted for my mother’s generation. In the 1960s and 1970s, they were unafraid to stand up and speak up for what they believed in.
  • I voted for my generation. While our accomplishments are tremendous, we still have a long way to go.
  • I voted for the generation of young girls who areally our future leaders. They have seen that women can do whatever we set our minds to.
  • I voted for the women and girls around the world who are denied their basic rights.

Today I voted.

Leave a comment

Filed under Feminism, History, Politics

Leave a Reply

