Daily Archives: May 24, 2017

The Jane Austen Project Book Review

History records that Jane Austen died in 1817, at the age of 41. She left behind six published novels and numerous unfinished manuscripts. What if there was a way to go back in time, to prevent her from dying young so she could write for years to come?

That is the premise of the new novel, The Jane Austen Project, by Kathleen A. Flynn. Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane live in an alternate universe where time travel is not just science fiction, but real life.  Rachel and Liam are sent back in time to 1815 to steal what they believe is an unpublished Jane Austen novel. Posing as a West Indies doctor and his unmarried sister, their plan is simple: infiltrate the Austen family, get close to their target and find the novel. They are supposed to not change history and play their part, but the task is not as easy as it seems.

I was very intrigued by the concept of the book. While the concept drew me in, I have to sadly admit that I felt at times that I was forcing myself to finish the book. The first third of the novel is rather slow and by the time the narrative began to quicken at the half way point, I still felt like I was not completely hooked.

Do I recommend it? Maybe.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review, Books, History, Jane Austen