Tag Archives: The five stages of grief

The Nanny Character Review: Grace Sheffield

*For the foreseeable future, some Character Review posts may not be published every Thursday as they have in the past.

*Warning: This post contains spoilers about the characters from the television series The Nanny. Read at your own risk if you have not watched the show. There is something to be said about a well-written, human character. They leap off the page and speak to us as if they were right in front of us, as flesh and blood human beings, instead of fictional creations. Losing a parent at any age is difficult. But the loss is harder when your young and you do not have the language or the emotionally capacity to express your feelings as an adult would.

On the The Nanny, Grace Sheffield (Madeline Zima) is the youngest of widower Maxwell Sheffield‘s (Charles Shaughnessy) three children. Acutely aware that her mother has passed on, Grace has been seeing a therapist to deal with the loss. These weekly sessions have given her an outlook on the world that most children her age don’t have. When her father hires Fran Fine (Fran Drescher) to look after his children, she finds the mother figure that she has been missing. Grace becomes the daughter that Fran has yet to have. They go nearly everywhere together and Grace quickly adopts Fran’s clothing style and way of speaking.

To sum it up: Though the five stages of grief are pretty standard, how we deal with that experience differs from person to person. Grace’s journey is that of a young girl who at first, is unable to process that she is down to a single parent. But when Fran enters her life, she is able to move away from the heartbreak, but still hold onto the memories of her mother.

Which is why she is a memorable character.

Leave a comment

Filed under Character Review, Feminism, Mental Health, New York City

The Five Stages Of Grief

Loss is a natural part of life. We’ve all lost someone or something. I’ve been thinking about the five stages of grief and how it has become helpful in dealing with this loss and challenge that I am experiencing.

1. Denial-It couldn’t happen to me, I worked too hard for it to happen.

2. Anger- Why me? What did I do that was so wrong?  It’s their fault. It was a 50/50 relationship, I can only take what they have given me.

3. Bargaining- I would give anything to go back and undo the choice I made. Something inside of me knew it wasn’t right, but I took the chance anyway.

4.Depression- What’s point of all this? I try and try and all I get is rejection and failure. They don’t see the person who can accomplish the goals they set, they only see a few lines on a piece of paper.

5. Acceptance- There is nothing I can do, as much as I wish I could to go back and undo my mistake. I am proud of myself for trying, it was not easy. I took a risk and the risk did not turn out as I hoped. But  I learned a lot and I can only move forward from here. It sounds very cliche, but when one door closes another opens.

I just don’t know when that door will open and that is the scary part.

1 Comment

Filed under Life