It’s Been a Year Since the Dobbs Decision

June 22nd, 2022 is a day that will live in infamy in American history.

It is the day that the Supreme Court decided to overturn Roe v. Wade and nearly 50 years of precedent. Officially known as Dobbs v. Jackson Women’s Health Organization, it ended federal protection ensuring access to abortion.

Today is a year since that ruling and it is a hard day for many (myself included). As a woman and a person with a uterus, my rights and ability to make the decision that is best for me and my family are no longer mine to make. It is up to the local and state legislatures to determine if and when a pregnancy can be ended.

Thankfully, new legislation signed by New York State Governor Kathy Hochul has strengthened abortion rights within the state’s boundaries. But not everyone is so lucky.

Though part of me is deflated, another part of me is on figurative fire. If the people on the other side thought that we would quietly accept SCOTUS‘s judgment, they have another thing coming. We will not stop until we are once more seen as fully-formed human beings who are capable of making our own conclusions.

Abortion Sma GIF by We Testify - Find & Share on GIPHY

Author: Writergurlny

I am Brooklyn, NY born and raised writer who needs writing to find sanity in an insane world. To quote Charlotte Bronte: “I'm just going to write because I cannot help it.”