I Stand With the SAG-AFTRA Actors Strike

I would love to live in a world in which the people at the top help those who are not so financially fortunate. But for every Bill Gates or Warren Buffett, there are others who think that the everyday worker is lazy or expendable.

On top of the still going on writers’ strike, the actors union (under the acronym of SAG-AFTRA) has also gone on strike. The two big issues are AI and residuals (specifically from the streaming services). When we think of successful actors, we assume that they are all earning six and seven-figure salaries. The truth is that many can barely get by while the studio CEOs make more in a day than most of us will in our lifetimes.

I could argue for why these people deserve fair pay and benefits, but I am going to let SAG-AFTRA Fran Drescher (The Nanny) do it for me.

These people deserve a fair wage. Until that day comes, they have every right to speak up and tell the studio bosses “no”.

Amazon Netflix GIF by INTO ACTION - Find & Share on GIPHY

Author: Writergurlny

I am Brooklyn, NY born and raised writer who needs writing to find sanity in an insane world. To quote Charlotte Bronte: “I'm just going to write because I cannot help it.”

2 thoughts on “I Stand With the SAG-AFTRA Actors Strike”

  1. Interesting that Tom Cruise was seeking an exception in order to be able to promote Mission Impossible. I think other actors have shot that concept down in flames. He should never have even asked.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.