Throwback Thursday: Easy Virtue (2008)

Being the stranger in a proverbial strange land is always difficult. Learning how to survive while figuring out who is who always has a steep learning curve.

The 2008 film, Easy Virtue, is based on the Noel Coward play of the same name. Set in the 1920s, John Whittaker (Ben Barnes) is the heir to an English estate that is on the brink of bankruptcy. Instead of marrying an heiress and using her fortune to save the family property, he marries American racer Larita (Jessica Biel).

His mother, Veronica (Kristin Scott Thomas), is horrified by her new daughter-in-law. They get along like oil and water. She is also doing everything she can to not become homeless. It doesn’t help that her husband (Colin Firth), who fought for his country in World War I, is not exactly pulling his weight. He is also indirectly standing with Larita instead of supporting his wife and children.

I enjoyed this movie. It is light, funny, and charming. The conflict between Larita and Veronica kept me chuckling.

Firth’s performance was the hillight of the film. He plays both against type while inhabiting a role that seems to be tailor-made for him.

Do I recommend it? Yes.

Author: Writergurlny

I am Brooklyn, NY born and raised writer who needs writing to find sanity in an insane world. To quote Charlotte Bronte: “I'm just going to write because I cannot help it.”