Sam & Kate Movie Review

It is a truth universally acknowledged that as we grow up, our parents grow old. It is a reality that I have slowly (and sometimes painfully) learned over the past decade or so.

In the 2022 film, Sam & Kate, Sam (Jake Hoffman) has returned to his small town to take care of his widowed and aging father, Bill (Dustin Hoffman). There, he meets Kate (Schuyler Fisk) and her mother Tina (Cissy Spacek). As Kate and Sam deal with their respective parents, the secrets from their past come to light and nearly break the tenuous bonds of romance.

There is no on-screen chemistry like those of IRL parents and children. That innate understanding of one another radiates from the screen. I definitely recognized and appreciated the struggle that Sam and Kate are going through. Recognizing your parent’s mortality is a very hard pill to swallow.

Overall, I liked the movie. It is not grand or colorful, but it has a quiet truth about it that we can all relate to.

Do I recommend it? I am leaning toward yes.

Sam & Kate is currently streaming on Hulu.

Author: Writergurlny

I am Brooklyn, NY born and raised writer who needs writing to find sanity in an insane world. To quote Charlotte Bronte: “I'm just going to write because I cannot help it.”

2 thoughts on “Sam & Kate Movie Review”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.