I Have Mixed Feelings About the New Children’s Toy Law in CA

The toys we play with when we are young can shape who we become as adults.

As of Monday, California stores that have more than 500 employees must keep a section of their shelves available for gender-neutral toys. If they don’t, the state will fine them $500.

In theory, I agree with this practice. Segregating how our kids play based on their gender teaches them what their potential roles in life will be when they grow up. A boy can play with a Barbie doll and a girl can play with trucks. Thankfully, the division between what is solely meant for females and what is solely meant for males is dissolving.

That does not mean that there will not be backlash. Some still adhere to the old gender binary and how each is represented in childhood. It’s not my taste but to each their own. Even if I had kids, I can’t tell other parents what toys they can or cannot buy for their offspring. The only thing I can do is teach my kinder that gender is nothing but a construct. It has nothing to do with ability, talent, or skill.

At this point, the reaction to this legislation is still up in the air. Is it a good thing? Yes. Will it be universally accepted? Probably not.

Toy Story GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY