The Latest SCOTUS Rulings: Two Steps Forward, One Step Back

Politics is a game of give and take. It is also a series of compromises. That being said, not everyone will agree with the final results.

Last week, SCOTUS ruled on two important subjects: gun control and abortion. The ban on bump stocks is no more. But access to mifepristone (aka the abortion pill) remains as is.

While I am grateful that my rights to my own body and healthcare are still the law of the land, I am disheartened by the overturning of the ban on bump stocks. As usual, this was a weekend that contained mass shootings and unecessary deaths.

The Female Complaint: Tales of Unruly Women Book Review

Women have always had a voice. The problem is that we were told to either remain silent or speak on a limited number of topics.

The Female Complaint: Tales of Unruly Women was edited by Rosalie Morales Kearns. Published in 2015, it is an anthology of 36 short stories written by female authors. Each tells the story of a woman who boldly reveals her truth and follows her gut in a world that would tell her to shut up and sit down.

While it is not the best book that I have ever read, I like the variety of voices and tales.

Do I recommend it? Yes.

The Female Complaint: Tales of Unruly Women is available wherever books are sold.