Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret Book Review

Puberty is a natural process in which we start to physically and emotionally grow from childhood to young adulthood.

Judy Blume‘s classic 1970 book Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret is the story of Margaret Simon. After coming home from summer camp, she gets the news that they are moving from New York City to the suburbs of New Jersey. While dealing with moving to a new town and socially acclimating to her new environment, Margaret is eager to get her first visit from Aunt Flo.

I don’t recall reading the book as a young girl, but I read it recently and I was blown away. Margaret’s first-person voice was and still is revolutionary. Her questions about life, faith (as the child of an interreligious marriage who has been raised with no specific religion), and what she wants out of life.

What blew me away was the pure honesty of the narrative and how universal her story is. I was also reminded why this book has been banned. It’s not just about romance (well as much as a preteen can experience). It’s about growing up and the questions that we ask along the way.

Do I recommend it? Absolutely.

Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret is available wherever books are sold.

What Now Period GIF by U by Kotex Brand - Find & Share on GIPHY

Author: Writergurlny

I am Brooklyn, NY born and raised writer who needs writing to find sanity in an insane world. To quote Charlotte Bronte: “I'm just going to write because I cannot help it.”

2 thoughts on “Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret Book Review”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.