Mothering Sunday Movie Review

One of the more common fairy tale tropes is a Cinderella-type narrative. Usually, it is a young lady from the wrong side of the tracks who ends up with a spouse whose status and bank account are more substantial than hers.

The 2021 movie, Mothering Sunday, is based on the romance novel, Mothering Sunday: A Romance by Graham Swift. In post-World War I England, Jane Fairchild (Odessa Young) is a housemaid employed in the home of Godfrey and Clarrie Niven (Colin Firth and Olivia Coleman). For the last few years, she has been secretly involved with Paul Sheringham (Josh O’Connor).

Paul is about to marry a woman of his own class. Jane wants to meet up with him one more time before he says “I do”.

There were a number of reasons that the film seemed appealing: the time period, the forbidden romance, the remarkable cast, etc. But I just couldn’t get into it. I should have been easily and quickly hooked. But I was not grabbed fast enough to make me want to finish it.

Do I recommend it? No.

Let Me Go Love GIF by 3 Doors Down - Find & Share on GIPHY