Ordinary Men: The “Forgotten Holocaust” Documentary Review

When we think of the Holocaust, we think of the hundreds of thousands who were murdered in the gas chambers. But for all of the lives that were taken via gas, many more were killed by firing squads. Their bodies were then dumped in mass graves.

The new Netflix documentary, Ordinary Men: The “Forgotten Holocaust” is about the Nazi soldiers who were part of these squads. Voiced by Brian Cox, the filmmakers use archival footage and recreated scenes to show that these men were just as human as any of us.

As I watched this nearly hour-long documentary, I felt a range of emotions: anger, frustration, sadness.

I was angry and sad because among the dead were probably distant relations. If not for the forethought of my immigrant forebears who chose to seek out a new life in America, my ancestors would have been among the dead. I would not exist. Those who pulled the trigger were not mythical creatures with inhuman features. As the title suggests, they were as ordinary as anyone: husbands, fathers, teachers, doctors, etc.

What gets me is that if they chose to back out, there was no formal punishment. But they still went along with the murders.

My frustration is twofold. The first is that antisemitism is once more rearing its ugly head. The second is that since 1945, there have been several events of a similar nature: among them are the Rwandan genocide, the Kosovo War, and the My Lai massacre. While the phrase “never again” frequently comes up, it has become as worthless as the figurative paper it is written on.

Do I recommend it? Absolutely.

Ordinary Men: The “Forgotten Holocaust” is available for streaming on Netflix.