The Aftermath Movie Review

War has a way of changing relationships.

In the new movie, The Aftermath (based on the book of the same name by Rhidian Brook), Lewis Morgan (Jason Clarke) is a member of the British army who has been charged with rebuilding Hamburg just after the end of World War II. His wife, Rachel (Keira Knightley) is joining him after a prolonged separation. Though their marriage appears to be solid, there are cracks beneath the surface.

Their new home is a villa just outside of Hamburg. It belongs to Stephen Lubert (Alexander Skarsgård),  a widower with  a young daughter. While Lewis is preoccupied with work, Rachel and Stephen’s relationship changes from antagonistic to romantic. In this political and emotionally charged relationship, old wounds will be opened, personal histories will be revealed and questions about the future will have to be answered.

I am sorry to say that I was disappointed with this film. While it was well done and well acted, it was just missing something. I can’t put my finger on what was missing, but it did have the emotional impact I hoped it would make.

Do I recommend it? Maybe.

The Aftermath is presently in theaters. 

 

Author: Writergurlny

I am Brooklyn, NY born and raised writer who needs writing to find sanity in an insane world. To quote Charlotte Bronte: “I'm just going to write because I cannot help it.”

One thought on “The Aftermath Movie Review”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.