In International News: Palestinians Kill Their Own Children & Brittney Griner Sentenced Because she is American

Politics is a game of give and take. But there are some boundaries that if crossed, will result in conflict, in one form or another.

Over the last few days, Palestinians have been again shooting rockets into Israel, purposefully targeting civilians. Approximately 120 rockets never got to Israel proper. They fell to the ground instead of hitting their targets. Nine Palestinian people were killed, four were children. These people do not care about their own. They only care about making the Middle East (and the world by extension) Judenrein.

In Russia, WNBA star Brittney Griner was sentenced to nine years in jail for carrying less than 1 gram of cannabis in her suitcase. After six months in prison, she pleaded guilty with the following statement:

“I never meant to hurt anybody, I never meant to put in jeopardy the Russian population, I never meant to break any laws here,” Griner said. “I made an honest mistake and I hope that in your ruling that it doesn’t end my life here. I know everybody keeps talking about political pawn and politics, but I hope that, that is far from this courtroom.

“I want to say again that I had no intent on breaking any Russian laws. I had no intent. I did not conspire or plan to commit this crime,” she added.

After the sentence, Griner told a CNN producer as she left court, “I love my family.”

When breaking a law, one should be punished. But the punishment should be appropriate to what they are accused of doing. It seems to me that the Griner is being used because she is an American. Putin and his government cannot strike us directly, but they can use one of our citizens as a pawn. I do wonder that if she was paid the same as male basketball players, would she have had to play overseas and be in her current predicament?

There is talk of a prisoner swap. So far, only talks have been confirmed by either side. Time will tell when Griner comes home. But I am hoping and praying that she does so soon.

That concludes this week’s dip into international news. Thank you for reading and have a good rest of the day.

Not Okay Movie Review

Social media is a wonderful thing. It connects us with like-minded individuals and opens the door to meeting people that we wouldn’t meet otherwise. The problem, however, with it is that it often creates an image that may not reflect reality.

The new Hulu movie, Not Okay, takes on this concept. Danni (Zoe Deutsch) is an NYC-based wannabe writer whose romantic and social life, in addition to her career is in the toilet. Adding insult to injury, she has zero Instagram followers.

Faking a trip to Paris, she suddenly has the attention she has been wanting. That attention grows tenfold after a terrorist attack. Danni has to pretend that she survived it. Labeled a hero upon her “return” home, she becomes friends with Rowan (Mia Isaac). Rowan is a young woman who is a true survivor. While dealing with her own trauma, she is trying to create a better world. She also attracts the attention of her long-time crush, Colin (Dylan O’Brien).

The facade has to be come down eventually. When it does, the fallout is spectacular and reveals the truth of our current-day culture.

I really liked this movie. It speaks to the need for approbation via the Internet and the truth that this approval is not always real. Though it took a little too long to get to the end, it was overall, an enjoyable film. I also enjoyed Danni as a character. Though she is inherently unlikeable, I still wanted to follow her story.

Do I recommend it? Yes.

Not Okay is available for steaming on Hulu.