My Greatest Save: The Brave, Barrier-Breaking Journey of a World Champion Goalkeeper Book Review

To be a pioneer is anything is an experience that few have. While we celebrate these people for the paths they created for others, we sometimes forget the hardships they had to go through.

My Greatest Save: The Brave, Barrier-Breaking Journey of a World Champion Goalkeeper, by World Cup champion and Olympian Brianna Scurry, was published in June. The memoir, co-written by Wayne Coffey and with a foreword by television anchor Robin Roberts, is the story of Scurry’s extraordinary life.

The youngest of nine children, Scurry was a tomboy as a child. Finding a niche in soccer, she excelled at the game from a young age. Following her passion all the way up through adulthood, she reached professional levels that many dream of, but few reach. Along with being the only African-American and gay player on the team, she also dealt with mental and physical health problems, in addition to financial difficulties.

In terms of the genre, the narrative is fairly generic. Though Scurry’s achievements are nothing to sneeze at, I was not as inspired as I thought I would be. When I got to the low in the story, it felt like it was just rushed through. I wanted what she was going through, but I couldn’t.

Do I recommend it? Not really.

My Greatest Save: The Brave, Barrier-Breaking Journey of a World Champion Goalkeeper is available wherever books are sold.

Flashback Friday: Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)

The Indiana Jones film series is one that keeps on giving. Forty-plus years old, the story of historian/adventurer Indiana Jones (Harrison Ford) has kept audiences enraptured for generations.

The 4th movie in the narrative, Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989) takes place in 1938. Indy’s father, Professor Henry Jones Sr. (Sean Connery) disappears while looking for the Holy Grail. On top of searching for his father, Indy, with the help of Elsa (Alison Doody), has to stop the Nazis from getting their hands on the grail and its power.

This movie is so much fun. It is a heart-pounding, blood-pumping, roller coaster of a ride. Ford and Connery have incredible chemistry as on-screen father and son.

My only complaint (which, as I spoke of in my last post), is that Doody as Elsa (who does not have a last name) is a film version of the “girl of the week”. Just like Connery’s other well-known series, James Bond, there is a new female love interest/co-adventurer in every story while the male lead remains as is.

Do I recommend it? Yes.